Reversing Mypoia with Jake Steiner

If you wear glasses, you’ve likely heard of myopia (=short-sightedness).  But have you heard of lens-induced myopia?  In this episode, Jake Steiner talks about how shortsightedness is often caused by wearing glasses.  He shares his journey reversing his own myopia, as well as his work helping thousands of others reverse their shortsightedness and ditch glasses.    

Eyesight is just tied to the human experience in such a very fundamental way that I think ignoring it is certainly not going to aid you in any healing or otherwise improving-yourself process.

Jake Steiner

Emily Iannuzzelli 0:22
Welcome to time to heal a podcast about hope and healing. My name is Emily Iannuzzelli and today I’m talking to Jake Steiner about reversing myopia.

Jake Steiner 0:36
I can I introduce myself briefly so my name is Jake Steiner. I always say I used to have minus five up to high myopia that’s pretty thick glasses can’t see can find my glasses if I put them down and forgot where they were. And now I’ve 20/20 eyesight, I reversed all of that naturally without any LASIK or, or exercise or Bates method are funny vitamin pills. And now I’m sharing a lot of my experiences with whoever because like listening to it.

Emily Iannuzzelli 1:02
Yeah, yeah, so my dad was like, Hey, bud, like, check out this guy. You know, he’s like, you can stop wearing glasses, like your eyes get better. And I was like, that’s not even possible. Like once you have glasses, like you always have glasses, and then I found a website. And what I took away from it was like the idea of like that glasses cause and worsen myopia. And so every time I get a new pair of glasses, I go down a little bit like I am like, tapering off. And to the point where like, if I wear my old glasses, like I feel sick and have a headache, so I think it’s working. But

Jake Steiner 1:36
yeah, like, I lean into the ridiculousness, because I completely appreciate that it sounds like Internet, unicorn farming, you know, you just call Okay, here’s another crazy person. But the topic is serious, but I’m just whatever.

Emily Iannuzzelli 1:49
So I know that all like listeners know, you know, at some level, like what myopia is, but I feel like your explanation is really valuable. So can you just tell us what myopia is?

Jake Steiner 2:01
Yeah, my giant mistake. There’s a good one. It’s besides called End Myopia. And for years, I didn’t realize that nobody knows what myopia means. Marketing is on point, as always, the obvious shortsightedness, so you can’t see clearly at a distance. And that’s, that’s your toll, generally by people who sell glasses that it’s some kind of mysterious genetic condition that’s irreversible, and your only course of action is to buy expensive glasses from them forever.

Emily Iannuzzelli 2:29
Yeah. So what causes myopia than if it’s not a genetic condition?

Jake Steiner 2:34
So I want to preface this with scholar google.com is one of my favorite websites or subdomains on the internet, because it shows you only search results for peer reviewed clinical studies, which doesn’t make them necessarily true, but it’s a much better starting point than the general internet. And the keywords I recommend always is pseudo myopia. psu do myopia as a not real, look at how many search results you find there’s 10s of 1000s of results. So this is a very well explored topic. pseudo myopia is a focusing muscle spasm that happens from you looking at something up close for too long, that muscle tightens, the closer you are focused on something the tighter that muscle is, if you do that for hours and hours and hours every day, eventually, that muscle just doesn’t fully relax. So you can see clearly at a distance called pseudo myopia, or near induced transient myopia, also very descriptive near induced caused by near focus and transient, meaning it would go away on its own if they let it myopia short sightedness so that the original cause for most shortsightedness, and most people in the world is they spend too much time looking at a screen or book and that muscle spasm

Emily Iannuzzelli 3:48
Okay, and then, and then they get glasses and that what is wearing glasses two

Jake Steiner 3:56
glasses are amazing. I invest a fair amount in in lens manufacturers and related industries I have. And I’ve made a fantastic amount of money from it. So I appreciate everybody who wears glasses and it doesn’t take doesn’t listen to me. It’s way more beneficial. Guys, glasses wholesale cost two to $5 a pair to the optometry. So the things that you buy for 50 or 100, or $200 in a retail store literally have a 5,000% markup. And what those fun things do besides make a lot of money is they move the focal plane for the back of your eye. So this is the super short version to muscle spasms instead of letting the muscle relax. The muscle being spasm causes the light to stop just in front of the retina. And so if you let the muscle spasm fix itself then the light would focus correctly again, or you put on glasses which forces the light further back in AI giving you immediate clear vision even though you have a muscle spasm. The unfortunate side effect or the very financially beneficial side effect is Is there a mechanism, there’s a mechanism in the eye that causes the eye to elongate, because of the lenses that you wear. Because the lights move back further in the eye, the eye goes on to short the eye elongates Google Scholar google.com axial elongation, that the axis of the eye elongating, which is more myopia, or lens induced myopia, which is my favorite search term on all of the internet. If you search lens induced myopia, and you get 10s, of 1000s, of results, and these are peer reviewed clinical studies, there’s not just general internet, saying that lenses cause worse eyesight, you wear lenses, your eyes will get worse. In undisputed, almost the amount of of clinical evidence there is for it. But you go to any retail Thomas trust, and I like to call them retail optometrist because they will tell you to it’s a mysterious genetic condition. So they’re selling you a lens subscription that is forever keeping you in this lens induced myopia state, which would otherwise be able to reverse naturally, fairly easily.

Emily Iannuzzelli 6:05
Yeah.

Jake Steiner 6:06
Can you tell, I’ve told this story before.

Emily Iannuzzelli 6:09
But it’s but you’re doing a great job. And again, this is all very well documented on your website. So I hate to make you repeat it through but I just know that listeners might not have already visited your website.

Jake Steiner 6:21
So I appreciate that. And it’s good practice for me anyway.

Emily Iannuzzelli 6:27
So does that like that means that if someone lens induced myopia means like, if someone with 2020 vision started wearing glasses, then their eyesight would get worse?

Jake Steiner 6:36
Absolutely. And actually, there’s tons of stories out there Russian draft Dodgers used to actually use this technique to give themselves myopia and get out of having to go to the military that have perfectly fine eyesight, they get minus one glasses, causes the eyeball to elongate, and then they take the glasses off. They can’t see clearly. Don’t pass the exam don’t have to go the army. So yeah, like this is? Yeah.

Emily Iannuzzelli 7:02
So then how do you how can you heal myopia? Yeah, you said that you had negative five or plus five?

Jake Steiner 7:09
I had negative five negative, you can’t you can’t heal mypoia here because it’s not an illness. Okay, so there’s no, and I like to say this a lot because people are misled by the word prescription. These things are clear, curved pieces of plastic. The only reason they’re called a prescription is because millions of dollars in lobbying, created this ruling to say, only optometrist can sell glasses to protect the distribution channel. So these 50 cents to $5 lenses can be sold for 100 bucks, 200 bucks, 500 bucks. So they’re not really prescription. They’re just pieces of plastic. Right. And the optometrist is not necessarily a doctor, not an MD in most cases, and neopia is not an illness. So when they call it an exam and a prescription that’s really just obfuscating the fact that you’re spending, you’re paying a 5,000% markup on clear plastic, right, like it’s a, it’s a nice charade to make you not think about what’s going on. can’t heal it because there’s no illness, the only thing that happened is your eyeball has long aided a perfectly healthy eyeball, responded to the lens, right, like the eyeball does know you have a lens in front of your eye, it just knows that the light moved back further. So it assumes it’s too short. So it’s actually the response of a completely healthy eyeball to elongate based on the lens can heal it. But you can reverse that allegation of the eyeball just by wearing less strong glasses, basically. And like slowly reversing the same thing that the optometrist so the optometrist made the number go up slowly, you just make the number goes down slowly, and your eyeball shortens back to the way it used to be.

Emily Iannuzzelli 8:43
That is something that I’ve been doing. And also, I don’t know where you get well, you probably don’t wear glasses and you don’t wear glasses anymore. But for like where I get my glasses is any optical because it’s a lot cheaper. I don’t know if you ever use that.

Jake Steiner 8:58
Yeah, I’m very familiar. No, because back in the day back when I was young, back when I reverse my myopia certainly wasn’t a thing yet. Yeah, so I was buying glasses just I was making deals with a local optic shops, you know, I would just find ones that looked friendly and receptive hotel glasses give me headaches when you give me a lower ones. If they say no, I go to the next one, I find a friendly one. I bring coffee and doughnuts and I make them a deal they can’t refuse or hopefully Don’t refuse. And I just asked for a relatively big discount saying I’m going to buy two pairs right now. And I’m going to come back every three to four months hopefully and buy more. And a lot of times I’d get a good reception, I get a pretty big discount. And that’s that’s how I used to buy classes.

Emily Iannuzzelli 9:40
Yeah. So how did you get started doing this? Like what made you think I want to reverse this.

Jake Steiner 9:50
I was looking at my beard one day in the mirror. Since it’s an audio only podcast, I have a very glamorous, long, flowing beard

Emily Iannuzzelli 10:01
Should I tell them the truth?

Jake Steiner 10:03
Yeah, sure.

Emily Iannuzzelli 10:05
No beard?

Jake Steiner 10:10
Yeah, figure out what else is true. Right? That’s the puzzle. So I was, um, I had those minus five is minus 4.5, or 4.75, somewhere around there. And there were rimless glasses with transitions optical coating that I paid like 700 euros for a ridiculous amount of money. They’re already quite thick on the edges, because they weren’t a super thin stuff. And I was looking for a taxi one night, and there’s the little lights on when the taxis occupied and I just couldn’t see that anymore. But it was just, it was a rainy evening, I remember exactly, I couldn’t figure out which taxi I was waving a taxis and and realizing they said occupied feeling like an idiot. So next, I went to the optometrist, and they said, I need strong glasses and the thought like I just looked at them. And at that point, at the time, I was a single guy, the strongest glasses are the smaller eyes look behind them. So I already had these little piggy looking eyes, and these thick glasses, and I was just like, this cannot continue. And I asked, so what causes this, and I’m an investor in stock trader, and I do a lot of analyzing of facts and fiction. So I’m fairly good at just profession wise to figure out when something doesn’t make sense. And the optometrist just said, it’s a genetic condition. I’m like, how did how, and they didn’t have an answer beyond that. And that got me started on thinking, Okay, so this guy who’s telling me what I need, and what’s wrong with me Can’t tell me exactly what the problem is. So that’s not confidence inspiring. So then I started doing a lot of research, pre fancy Google. So I went to a lot of libraries. I talked to a lot of people. And I figured out what you can just look up now in a second, a pseudo myopia induced transit myopia that that’s a thing. My eyesight started out with that, and it took a fair amount of reading, I can giving you the homework answers, basically, pseudo myopia turns into lens induced myopia. And once I figured that out, that’s that’s fact. I mean, as close to perfect as you can get with science. So I figured out that that caused my myopia from So from then on, I didn’t believe anything, they said. And further research showed that that eyeball length is dynamic throughout your life. It’s not related to puberty, it’s not related to age, it’s not related to anything other than the visual signal that your eye gets. So the eye continues to adjust itself. There are studies that show within an hour, a measurable length in human eyeball, and they’ve done this study on like chickens and monkeys, and everybody else is anything with eyes similar to ours has the same response. So I’m like, okay, so if the eyeball adjusts, I can shorten it the same way to elongate it. And that started a journey. That was a really long way, because I did many things to wrong. The details, I didn’t know the details, but the general premise of reduced adopters is the answer to improving eyesight.

Yeah.

Emily Iannuzzelli 12:59
So that like, that story reminds me a lot of I told you that I was I took Ritalin for almost all my life. And I remember that like it, it made me feel like really, like, amped up and like productive, but it also made me feel kind of anxious when I took it. And I remember going to the doctor one time, and she was like, I think we should put you on an anti anxiety drug. And I was just like, no,

like,

I’m like, we’re gonna I’m gonna, I need to stop taking Ritalin like I just like this can’t continue, like from one thing to another to another. And I think like how you’re talking about the AI industry? Like I have a lot of like, I’m curious, like, what if you have similar feelings about other industries, like the pharmaceutical industry, and it’s all

Jake Steiner 13:46
it’s all the same? It’s symptom treatment, right? Like, they’re really good at dealing with acute problems. I will go to the hospital, right, the second if I have a stabbing pain or bleeding out of somewhere to

Emily Iannuzzelli 13:57
break my leg.

Jake Steiner 13:58
Yeah, but anything that is like that is just long term treatable with symptom treatment that gets recurring revenue. That’s where the thing stops, and I don’t want to be the conspiracy guy or the anti medicine guy, because it’s not my fight. But there’s definitely a lot of it’s really like Adderall.

Emily Iannuzzelli 14:15
Yes. Yeah. Oh, my

Jake Steiner 14:18
God. That is that is just speed, right? It’s just an amphetamine. And Fun fact, speaking of respecting my voice, I have done a crap ton of drugs allegedly in my life. I’ve tried everything, including all of those. And the idea that that is a prescription that is being pushed on people is shocking,

Emily Iannuzzelli 14:38
like in children. Yeah. Shocking.

Jake Steiner 14:40
Like that is some strong bad stuff.

Emily Iannuzzelli 14:44
Yeah, what’s your favorite drug?

Jake Steiner 14:48
Oh, boy. Now we’re getting into the now we’re getting into that

Emily Iannuzzelli 14:51
you don’t have to answer.

Jake Steiner 14:54
psychedelics. I’m sticking with psychedelics. They’re not the most fun thing in the world, but they’re, you’re not going to get in a hole. A lot of trouble doing LSD, allegedly, and certainly not now. But if somebody were to fly me somewhere where that’s legal, that would probably be.

Emily Iannuzzelli 15:10
Okay, so I asked everyone this question because this is a podcast about healing. And if you don’t if I don’t know if it makes sense to ask you, because you said that we don’t heal myopia, but I’m just wondering if you have like a good definition, or like how you think about healing.

Jake Steiner 15:25
So we were looking for podcasts for a while there. And one thing happened several times, there were some Paleolithic diet, keto diet related podcasts. That said, This is not our topic, like this is not for us. And I always thought that was fascinating because everything is connected. And weirdly, a lot of these podcasts get really focused on just one little topic, and don’t venture outside. And I’m like, Okay, so, but diet and eyesight is very much related. Because if you get insulin spikes from eating terrible food, your eyesight will get worse, to the point where when you’re diabetic, you’re so myopic, almost for certain, right? Like, these things are connected. posture and eyesight is absolutely connected in the way, the way you move your head, if you have free eye movement, as opposed to when you’re forced to look through the optical center of a lens is completely different. Right, so you end up moving your head like a little bit of a robot, just a tiny little bit more when you wear glasses. When you’re walking, you have to look at the ground in front of you, because you don’t have peripheral vision on this your contact lenses. So you’ve walked differently, right? Like you don’t participate in sports to the same extent, or with the same abilities. Because lacking peripheral vision, your fine motor skills are affected, especially in younger people, it can affect your your development, like in terms of your personality, people are more anxious and more withdrawn. They’re looked at as nerds because of the glasses, so they further withdraw into that space. So eyesight is just tied to the human experience in such a very fundamental way that I think ignoring it is certainly not going to aid you in any healing or otherwise improving yourself process. You know, if you accept this, I can’t see story. To me, it’s just an again, maybe it’s because my topic, but it’s such a fundamental, if you let somebody take your eyesight, and they rent it back to you with classes. Not continuing to accept that and reclaiming that I think is quite empowering. On a general level, right. Like you can do lots of things. Besides treating symptoms.

Emily Iannuzzelli 17:33
Yeah. Yeah. Wow. I love that. That idea? That’s really cool. Yeah. Because it is it is also connected. And, like, I think to just like the idea of like vision in terms of like, you know, like a more metaphorical vision is so connected to like, our actual vision, like I just feel like sometimes, like when I’m wearing my glasses, and I can see things really clearly. I think more clearly, right? And I, I want that for myself without glasses.

Jake Steiner 18:03
Yeah, and it’s super achievable. Right. And that’s just ironic, like, I feel like when Elon Musk says we must be living in a simulation, just the idea that short sightedness is how we describe the shortcoming of ourselves in general. That’s short sighted behavior. And we’re not just metaphorically or metaphorically incredibly short sighted, but we’re also literally short sighted, because we’re metaphorically short sighted. Right? It sounds silly, but it’s just kind of ironic that we literally can’t see at a distance even though we should be and we could, but we just go in and just fix it. I’m gonna speaking of addiction, these things are way more addictive than even Adderall or anything else.

Unknown Speaker 18:43
They’re the worst phones. Yes.

Jake Steiner 18:46
Yeah.

Emily Iannuzzelli 18:48
Um, so my like hope is that people listening to this that are wearing glasses or have myopia will check out your website and start reversing it. What is what’s like one thing that what’s like the first thing that you recommend to people to do, like when they start working on reversing their myopia?

Jake Steiner 19:13
The first thing is to measure measure eyesight. Learn how easy it is to measure because people are really confused by this eye exam concept. Which is just charades. The thing to understand the first thing to understand that, that the diopters of your classes are just an expression of distance to blur. How far can you see before things get blurry? So if you can measure how far you can, like how many centimeters before the holding the book and the letters get blurry, what is that distance 100 divided by the distance is the diopters of your glasses. So having the experience like literally getting a measuring tape, we have an iOS app and an unofficial Android app that lets you measure that distance. Like the camera picks up where your eyes are Just move the phone to the distance where blur starts, and then you hit the button and it tells you the distance and it tells you the doctors. So it’s the best starting point to make you go, Hmm, there’s nothing more to an eye exam and optometrists hate me for that, then distance to blur, you can do this by yourself at home. And then once you did that, once, that’s why I made that app, do it in a dark room like the one I’m in right now. See how much shorter that distance is compared to ambient natural ambient outdoor lighting, the distance can be noticeably bigger, and then compare it after a four hour Netflix binge versus after a nice hike. And if you if you do 10 of these measurements, you’re going to notice there’s a shocking amount of difference in your eyesight in those diopters that you would need depending on how you treat your eyes and your environment. Up there, speaking of the addictiveness, it’s kind of addictive from there, to then affect that number in a positive way, because you go home, so the dark rooms not really great for me. So I’m going to do less course up in a dark room. And then after a month of that, you notice your eyesight actually improved somewhat. And that’s the first thing so measuring, super important to immerse yourself in that experience. And the second thing is never wear distance glasses or close up. Never ever, ever, ever, ever. Like if you don’t learn anything else, get a diopter and a half less, and wear those for close up. And I said at least we’ll never get worse.

Yeah.

That means any money, I’ll definitely send me one. Okay.

Emily Iannuzzelli 21:32
That we’re bumping, that’s number one the other day. Um, I that’s, that’s great. Like, it’s, it’s such, it’s this concept of like taking responsibility for this aspect of your health rather than just going to the optometrist, the retail optometrist and saying, you know, what is my eyesight and kind of outsourcing that just it’s like getting on a scale. And like weighing yourself, it’s just, it’s like a way of being in touch with that aspect of your body.

Jake Steiner 22:02
Yeah, and also, while we’re on the optometrist topic, think about how many doctors and health related things you go to fix in a mall. Right? If you go to an optic shop, most of them and shopping malls, and a hospital, right. And when you walk in there, it’s not a doctor’s office. It’s like rows and rows of fancy fashion frames, and two for one discounts like, that is so thinly veiled as some kind of a medical topic. It’s not even funny, like once you start looking at it with a critical eye. Don’t trust me. But I’m also saying also don’t trust them. All of this stuff that they’re saying starts to be a little bit more dubious than then we like to imagine. Yeah, getting a prescription and I’m shopping.

Emily Iannuzzelli 22:45
Well, and and I just wouldn’t be here like, we’re not talking about ophthalmologists. Or like, you know, glaucoma or retinal, like we’re not talking about like other eye diseases,

Jake Steiner 22:55
we’re just because this is not an eye disease. This is not an eye disease, right? Like it’s not an illness. It’s literally not an illness. It’s literally just the eyeball elongates in response to the lens. There’s nothing pathological or ill or sick or broken about the eye at this point. If you do have an eye condition, absolutely go see a professional. Absolutely. I get annual checkups from my site, right? I go to a good ophthalmologist that doesn’t sell fashion frames in a shopping mall, and get an eye checkup, they check many things that that you’re not going to find answers from the internet necessarily 100% do that. This is a weird fringe topic where $100 billion dollar industry was built on hijacking the idea of health and sickness and prescriptions, and really just causing a condition to linger. A condition is in the wrong word like an focal plane to linger that is artificially created. Right. So very clear, because people always ask me about medical stuff. And I always repeat like I’m not a doctor, please go see a doctor. Yeah, if you have symptoms, go see an actual doctor. Not in a shopping mall. For sure. Right. This myopia is just kind of a side topic that got thrown in there because it makes a lot of money.

Yeah.

Emily Iannuzzelli 24:10
Wow. So what do you think is the greatest thing that you’ve learned from doing this work? That people suck?

Jake Steiner 24:21
Okay.

Well, I shouldn’t say that. The the short sightedness on a general level is overwhelming. I quit so many or I got so close to quitting so many times just because of the general level of apathy and and cynicism and negativity and throwing a thing away before evaluating it at all. Not never having been in it and me myself being guilty of the same exact thing on so many levels, just figuring out for once being on the other side of it, how close minded we are. Even when we know something how generally apathetic we are, is shocking. Like I was never exposed to this on such a scale, I get 700 emails a day now. So I’m like exposed to humanity in this huge way. And there’s a small percentage of people who are amazing, right? Like they’re interested or curious or even if they don’t believe or trust, they’re exploring what is there to this, or they’re encouraging or helpful, they’re participating. And that’s like a very small percentage. And then there’s a very large percentage of, I don’t give a shit don’t care, who cares and your scam. I’m doing this because it’s, I’m upset at the establishment and I’m upset at personally, they screwed me over. And the the aggressiveness with which they defend their position to me is just unbelievable. So I just come from a place of, well, I feel like this nonsense. I just can’t let it stand, right. But at the same time, I’m not like a health guru. I’m not an influencer, I’m not anything. So it’s personally really useful to me when people say, you come across as this and that because I don’t have that. You know, whatever makes people professional and graded stuff, I don’t have this, which is why I like to say send me money, because that’s one of the things people say you’re just after money, or you know, like all of those things. I’m like, I can’t be mad at humanity, because I am the same way in so many ways. But it made me check myself. And the cynicism and this is not really a positive message. But it literally is it made me kind of question ourselves as a as a large group, and how we interact with each other and how we treat each other and how we end up in some of the crap we’re in because we’re so not connected. It’s, it’s not the greatest thing I’ve learned in so many ways. But it’s, I feel like I’ve learned that we really need to spend more time listening to others and putting a little bit more open mindedness out there, and that our anxiety and anger and just fun of trolling The internet is really not good for us as a group of humans that are being exploited by various other smaller groups. Yeah, no,

Emily Iannuzzelli 27:11
no, and that’s, that’s wonderful. And I think that, that that’s a wonderful message for me to hear anyways, as I’m doing this, you know, because I, that’s what I’m trying to do. Like, listen to people. So thank you for saying that. I feel confirmed.

Jake Steiner 27:30
But I used to be the same way. I mean, and that’s the saddest part. Like I can’t, I can’t point fingers at anybody, because I did a lot of this also, of trolling, super fun. And I think anything or I used to think anything, not mainstream is a conspiracy theory and just make fun of people for being, you know, jewnicorn, farming hippies.

Emily Iannuzzelli 27:48
It’s karma?

Jake Steiner 27:49
Well, yes, of course, it is. Anything a judge? At some point, you’re going to get some of it. But I think there’s so much more nuanced that, that I think we really have a fun journey ahead of us sorting out. Yeah, you know, like your context of what’s going on currently, like, I’m not going to talk about it. But right, like, a lot of these things would be different if he had a different mindset about what’s good for us as a group.

Yeah. Yeah,

Emily Iannuzzelli 28:15
totally. So how can people find you follow you and support your work? How can people send you money? What’s your

Jake Steiner 28:24
you don’t actually need to send me money? invest in businesses, and I used to trade stocks, not so much anymore. So I actually am not dependent on this for money. It’s just, I don’t know, it’s funny.

I like I know,

I’m mlb.org. There’s 1000 plus articles, how to guides all kinds of stuff on there is linked to YouTube channel, forum, Facebook group, all kinds of stuff. I do have some paid courses with support that are available sometimes sometimes not. Generally speaking, though, you definitely absolutely don’t need to spend money to do this. You just need lower adopted classes. And if people want to support me just just write internet comments about how amazing my beard is.

Emily Iannuzzelli 29:09
Well, have you all dry little beards and we can stick them on? Yeah.

Jake Steiner 29:14
Oh, yeah. They just said Actually, I’m gonna order a fake beard. Because I do YouTube videos sometimes. And it just feels like the gravitas isn’t there without like a nice, yeah. You know, maybe put some beads in it.

Emily Iannuzzelli 29:25
Yeah, you could start like a, like a beard industry where it like suppresses people’s natural beards and then you have to sell them. You can take all I learned

Jake Steiner 29:37
I will claim it’s real though. For sure. That’ll be the number one thing

Unknown Speaker 29:40
Yeah. Okay. Okay.

Jake Steiner 29:42
So hopefully it didn’t, I didn’t disrespect your voice here. No fun of things. It’s not it’s just my way because it’s such a it’s a silly topic and I’m not trying to become you know, I don’t want to be the influencer or the the guy that explains all this. I just, I’m just guiding I’m showing the direction and people People should figure it out without putting me on a pedestal of any kind.

Emily Iannuzzelli 30:03
Yeah, yeah, no, I love that. I love that the thing that I was most nervous about today is like, I don’t wear a blue light glasses. And I thought for sure that you would be wearing computer blue light glasses and like, shame me about it. But I’m glad that we’re both here.

Jake Steiner 30:19
We’re shaming people. But blue light glasses don’t do anything. So don’t worry about

Unknown Speaker 30:24
Oh, okay, good to know. Yeah.

Jake Steiner 30:26
I mean. Now they don’t, they basically don’t. It’s almost like if you go from coke to Coke Zero, because, you know, the only problem with coke was that there was sugar in it, right? Or you go to low fat, whatever, instead of regular fat. Removing, like, blaming one ingredient of a generally bad thing, and then removing that ingredient and then telling yourself it’s fine. Is addiction behavior. Or adjacent at least, you know, so the problem is that you’re looking at Netflix for five hours before going to bed. And when you say, Oh, if only the blu ray wasn’t in it, I’d be fine. Right? And then they put a little blue tint in glasses and sell to 400 bucks extra. And even though that coating will cost them another 10 cents. Really not a solution. And I don’t like it because it makes people more comfortable calling Oh, I’m going to spend another three hours I got these classes on.

Yeah. Yeah. Good to know. Good to know, very

unprofitable my message in general makes no money for anybody.

Unknown Speaker 31:25
Well,

Emily Iannuzzelli 31:26
we need more messages like that in the world.

Jake Steiner 31:29
Maybe, yeah, maybe.

Emily Iannuzzelli 31:32
Um, thank you so much. This was really fun and informative.

Jake Steiner 31:37
I’m super glad that we had this chat, hopefully to monopolize our conversation.

Emily Iannuzzelli 31:41
No, no, this was perfect. This was really perfect.

Jake Steiner 31:44
Make sure to cut out all the truck references. Okay.

Okay, well, I’ll

Unknown Speaker 31:49
leave with

Emily Iannuzzelli 31:51
the fun part. Yes. Like in this week, we’re talking about drugs.

Jake Steiner 31:57
That’s what we should have done. That should have been the podcast, I would have been away and just throw it aside. And just as a side topic,

Emily Iannuzzelli 32:04
season two, I’ll have you back on for season two.

Thank you for listening. Hopefully you learned something from Jake and his bearded wisdom today. His website is linked here if you’re interested in learning about reversing your own myopia. A transcript of this episode can be found on the website timetohealpodcast.wordpress.com. Braille version is also available upon request. Thank you to Jesse Blake Rundle for his gorgeous music. You can listen to his album Radishes and Flowers on Spotify or bandcamp. Thanks as always, to my talented friend Erin Drew who helps produce this podcast. Check out her business On Brand Voice for innovative copywriting and voiceover solutions. Please subscribe to this podcast to get alerts about new episodes. We also have a newsletter that you can sign up for on the website. You can follow the pod on Instagram and Twitter under the handle @timetoheal_podcast. We also have a Facebook group, which you can join so you can connect with the community of listeners.

If you’re suffering from short sighted, metaphorical or physical, it’s time to heal

Transcribed by https://otter.ai

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started